







## List of Speakers

Science and the Fight against Poverty:
How Far Have We Come in 20 Years and What's Next?

Paris, 22-23 June 2023

<u>Sule Alan</u> is Professor of Economics at the European University Institute in Florence and an adjunct professor at Bilkent University. She is co-chair of J-PAL's Displaced Livelihoods Initiative.

**Charline Avenel** is Rector of the Academy of Versailles.

<u>Abhijit Banerjee</u> is Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is co-founder and co-director of J-PAL and co-scientific director of J-PAL Europe.

<u>Luc Behaghel</u> is Chaired Professor at the Paris School of Economics. He is co-chair of J-PAL's Displaced Livelihoods Initiative and European Social Inclusion Initiative.

**Samuel Bentolila** is Professor of Economics at CEMFI in Madrid.

<u>Hervé Berville</u> is the French Secretary of State for the Sea and former board member of the Fund for Innovation in Development (FID).

<u>Robin Burgess</u> is Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics. He is also co-founder and director of the International Growth Centre.

<u>Axelle Charpentier</u> is the Head of the Public Policy Evaluation and Research Support Office at the Ministry of National Education and Youth, France.

**Abdourahmane Cissé** is Minister, Secretary-General of the Presidency of the Republic of Côte d'Ivoire.

<u>Bruno Crépon</u> is Professor of Economics at ENSAE. He is a co-scientific director of J-PAL MENA and co-chair of the Labour sector.

<u>Iqbal Dhaliwal</u> is the Global Executive Director of J-PAL and co-scientific director of J-PAL South Asia.

**Esther Duflo** is Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is co-founder and co-director of J-PAL and co-scientific director of J-PAL South Asia.

<u>Pascaline Dupas</u> is Kleinheinz Family Professor of International Studies and Professor of Economics at Stanford University and Director of the Stanford King Center for International Development. She is co-chair of J-PAL's Health sector.

José Luis Escrivá is the Minister of Inclusion, Social Security and Migration of Spain.

**Sasha Gallant** is division chief of Development Innovation Ventures (DIV) at USAID.

**Rachel Glennerster** is an Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago and co-chair of J-PAL's Education sector. From 2004 to 2017, she served as Executive Director of J-PAL.

<u>Michael Greenstone</u> is Milton Friedman Distinguished Service Professor in Economics at the University of Chicago and Director of the Becker Friedman Institute. He is co-chair of J-PAL's King Climate Action Initiative.

<u>Marc Gurgand</u> is a Professor at the Paris School of Economics (PSE) and at the Ecole Normale Supérieure-Paris Sciences et Lettres (ENS-PSL). He is co-scientific director of J-PAL Europe.

**Rema Hanna** is Jeffrey Cheah Professor of South-East Asia Studies and a Faculty Director of Evidence for Policy Design (EPoD) at Harvard University. She is co-chair of J-PAL's Social Protection sector and co-scientific director of J-PAL South-East Asia.

<u>Martin Hirsch</u> is former High Commissioner for Active Solidarities and High Commissioner to Youth in the French government. He is currently the President of the Institut de l'Engagement.

<u>Dean Karlan</u> is Frederic Esser Nemmers Distinguished Professor of Economics and Finance at Northwestern University and chief economist at the United States Agency for International Development.

Naomi Kirungu is the Lead for Partnerships and Small and Medium Enterprises (SME) at the African Management Institute.

<u>Michael Kremer</u> is University Professor in Economics at the University of Chicago and Director of the Development Innovation Lab.

Eliana La Ferrara is Professor of Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School.

<u>Miriam Laker</u> is the Research Director of Give Directly.

<u>Cina Lawson</u> is Minister of Digital Economy and the Digital Transition of Togo.

<u>Arianna Legovini</u> is the Director of the Development Impact Evaluation (DIME) department at the World Bank.

Bruno Le Maire is the Minister of Economics, Finance, and Industrial and Digital Sovereignty of France.

Mónica Martínez-Bravo is Professor at CEMFI in Madrid.

**Santhosh Mathew** is Country Lead for Social and Public Finance Policy in India for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

<u>Thomas Mélonio</u> is the Executive Director of Innovation, Strategy, and Research of the French Development Agency (AFD).

Alison Naftalin is Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Lively Minds.

Carol Nekesa is Co-Founder and Director of Vyxer Research Management, REMIT Kenya.

<u>Cillian Nolan</u> is Director of Policy at J-PAL Europe.

**Cyril Nouveau** is Director of Statistics, Studies and Evaluation at Pôle Emploi, the French employment agency.

<u>Milagros Paniagua</u> is Secretary-General to the Spanish Ministry of Inclusion, Social Security and Migration.

<u>Adrien Pawlik</u> is Project Director of the Innovation, Data and Experiments in Education Programme at J-PAL Europe.

**George Richards** is the Director of Community Jameel

Rémy Rioux is Chief Executive Officer of the French Development Agency (AFD).

**Elan Satriawan** is Associate Professor in the Department of Economics, Universitas Gadjah Mada, and Chief of Policy Working Group at The National Team for the Acceleration of Poverty Reduction (TNP2K) in Indonesia.

<u>Anna Schrimpf</u> is Executive Director of J-PAL Europe.

<u>Juliette Seban</u> is Executive Director of the Fund for Innovation in Development (FID).

<u>Tavneet Suri</u> is Louis E. Seley Professor of Applied Economics at the MIT Sloan School of Management and is co-chair of J-PAL's Agriculture sector and of the Digital Identification and Finance Initiative in Africa.

<u>Kwabena Tandoh</u> is the Deputy Director General for Quality and Access of the Ghana Education Service.

<u>Charlotte Watts</u> is Chief Scientific Adviser and Director for Research and Evidence at the UK Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO).